Nikon 50mm 1.8G

Nikon 50mm 1.8G

It’s FINALLY here!! I got my Nikon 50mm 1.8G last Friday and was able use the lens over the weekend.  I have to say that the lens is well worth the $219 price tag from Amazon.  I had it pre-order when it was first announced back in April.  Now it’s in my hands, well worth the wait.

I use this lens on a Nikon D90, it’s a DX sensor and the lens is for FX sensor.  So it’s actually an 80mm on the D90’s.  A little bit on the long side for me.  I like more of a wide angle for my photography.  Check out my earlier post from the weekend “Ohh La La Dessert” .  That was my first outing with the lens.  The first thing I notice about this lens was it’s weight.  I was really light compare to my other lens. The lens that usually stays on my D90 is my 17-55mm 2.8.  I love the 17-55mm lens but it’s heavy!  Don’t get me wrong this 50mm feels solid and is well built.  My daughter also shot off a few photos with it too.  She loves that it’s compact and feels like it was made for her hands.  She going to photography next school year, I have a feeling this lens will be on her camera more then mine.

This 50mm is a great lens, it’s sharp, it’s compact and it’s light weight.  Good for my walk around lens. If you don’t have any prime lens yet give the 50mm 1.8G a try, for that price you can’t go wrong.  Till next time, See Ya!

Nikon 50mm 1.8G

Nikon 50mm 1.8G

Nikon 50mm1.8G Wide Open

Leave a Reply

