Real Life Mach 5!

Anyone growing up in the 80’s knows … Saturday morning cartoon were like the best thing ever!  I would wake up at 6am on Saturday morning, walk to the kitchen and grab a bowl, pour my milk and then I get to decide which cereal would taste best in my belly that morning.  It was almost always Coco Pebbles my favorite, because when you’re done eating cereal you had a bowl of chocolate milk.  How awesome is that!   Once I got my breakfast I’d sit in my spot on the sofa, flip on the telly and Saturday morning cartoons were on…instant heaven for a kid.
Some of my all-time favorites were Voltron, He-man, Thunder Cats, GI Joe and Speed Racer. If you grew up in the 80’s you definitely know the cartoons I’ve just listed and now you’re probably thinking of your own favorite shows, am I right?  
Speed Racer was one of my favorite cartoons to watch.  What boy didn’t like cartoons and cars? It was the ultimate combo!  I know Speed Racer was actually a 60’s cartoon but re-runs were just as good in the 80’s.  I always thought it would be cool to see a real Mach 5.  I’ve seen pictures of Mach 5’s over the years but never one in person; that was until earlier this month’s Coffee and Cars. 
Over the last few years I’ve been to my share of Houston’s Coffee and Cars so I try to get pictures of cars that I’ve never seen before.  When I saw the Mach 5 driving around the parking lot I was stunned; a real life Mach 5! I knew I had to get pictures of that before I left but in the sea of cars filling the plaza area I thought I’d lost it. Giving up thinking that he’d left already as I walked back to my truck, there it was parked only a few cars down from me. Yeeesss! Let me tell ya, this Mach 5 did not disappoint.   It was very carefully detailed and modified to replicate the actual Mach 5 exactly. Whoever built this car did a great job!

-RSP-

3 thoughts on “Real Life Mach 5!

Leave a Reply

